I’m Spicing Things Up: Chicken Salad

I was not in the mood to cook today.

Yesterday I had some sort of sick bug and food was just not happening for me. And then today, I only wanted very specific things. Like pumpkin pancakes this morning. I had to make them. And no, I am not pregnant.

A big chicken salad was sounding really good for dinner. Lately I’ve been making more hearty meals at dinnertime so it was nice to have a change and have something light. And since I didn’t really feel like cooking, this was going to be easy. I found this recipe in a cookbook that I have had for years but had never opened. The salad has chicken, red pepper, cucumber, red onion, and basil. I love the smell of onion and basil after it’s chopped…my kitchen smelled that a garden had exploded in it. Then you make your own honey mustard dressing. I was hesitant about making my own dressing, I don’t know why, but I thought for sure it would taste horrible, but it turned out to be really good.

I added some fatty garlic bread on the side and there you have it, dinner. Yum!

Best part is there’s leftovers for me to take to work tomorrow, that is if Brett doesn’t finish it off in the middle of the night.

One response to “I’m Spicing Things Up: Chicken Salad

  1. make me dinner next week.
    ok great, thanks.

Leave a Reply

