I’m Spicing Things Up: Week 6

On Monday I made Southwest Beef Stew.

That’s right…you heard me…I made beef stew.

For those of you that do not know me well, I’m not much of a beef eater. I sort of didn’t eat it for a little while and I when I would it was usually just ground beef. So this was a step outside of my comfort zone and boy was it worth it. I really liked it!

I obviously had never made a stew before. I didn’t even know that the butcher sold beef stew meat. Something new.

Here are a few of the yummy ingredients…

beef stew 1

Sweet Potato, Red Pepper, Onion, Corn, Jalapeno, Garlic. Yum!

And yes, that is a large jar full of candy corn in the back. Try not eating that all day. Why do I do this to myself?

The best things about making this were…

It was cold outside and it felt good to eat warm food, the smell was amazing in the house, and Brett was super happy!

The finished product…

beef stew 2

And of course we had to have corn muffins with loads of butter and honey…

corn muffins

I will definitely be making this and other stews this chilly season. Delicious!

3 responses to “I’m Spicing Things Up: Week 6

  1. Wow…looks amazing!! Funny, I used to make beef stew all the time when you guys were little and none of you would touch it!!! 🙂 So, I just stopped!!
    You are getting pretty good at this cooking gig!!

  2. mmmm soupy soup soup. Oh and P.s. fall time is NOT complete without the candy made of corn!

  3. you know whats not helping me with my “thinking about american foods” problem?? reading your blog. thanks.

Leave a Reply

