I’m spicing things up!

In the kitchen that is. People, get your minds out of the gutter. I’ve decided that each week I’m going to cook something new and exciting. Something I have never made before. I’m just tired of the same old stuff and I need some variety. And who did I turn to for some food inspiration, The Pioneer Woman. For those of you who do not know her yet, please visit her blog. She is A-mazing! I secretly want to be her, and live on a farm and milk cows, but that’s another story for a different day. Anyway I was scrolling through many of her recipes a couple of weeks ago and the Baked Lemon Pasta was calling my name. I mean it’s summertime and lemons just scream summer, right? So the last time I was at Target I bought myself a little mini grater to zest me some lemons, and I went to the grocery today to make my fabulous new dinner. It was wonderful! I was so worried I would screw it up. I had never zested (is that what you say) a lemon before so I learned something new in the process. For our sides I added a little spinach salad and some buttery french bread. Yum! Here’s our fantastic dinner.

DSC_0448

(I just liked this photo…and it’s proof that I did make it myself. Pat myself on the back.)

lemon pasta 1

lemon pasta 2

My family ready to grub.Ok, well not Ethan. He wasn’t feeling so great tonight so he just had toast and bananas. But Brett really liked it and ate way too much.

Each week I hope to make something new and share what I do. I’m looking forward to finding some great recipes to enjoy while learning how to become a better cook along the way.

2 responses to “I’m spicing things up!

  1. WOW I don’t know if this blog inspires me to try and get my non cooking bum into the kitchen, or if it just makes me want to come to your house for dinner…?I think I like the coming to your house idea better…

  2. Really Adrian…YOU, living on a farm, milking cows?!!! hahahahaha!!! I’m laughing so hard right now I can’t breath!! You freak out when there’s a spider in the house!! A farm?? Really?? Do you have any idea how much animal poop that means you’d have to clean up?? hahahaha!! BUT..who am I to squash your dreams!!!

Leave a Reply

